Pieces Of A Wunderkind's Mind

Snippets of Life, Love, Food, Travels, Discoveries, and Whatnot

Rice Krispies® Treats

on August 18, 2010

When I’m bored, I try to make them. When I feel down, I binge on them. When I feel happy, I munch on them and spread the happiness by sharing them. Yes, my all-time favorite snack/dessert/comfort food is a classic one that anyone can make anytime, in no time!


[Image grabbed from greenlightoffice.com]


Gone are the days when boxes containing bars of these great goodies in blue foil packaging can be bought from supermarkets or even in convenience stores. [There, even, were times when I got extremely lucky and purchased them in singles from the neighborhood sari-sari store.]


So now that those ready-made bars are not available anymore and the craving kicks in, I just make my own. I get the same taste and quality [plus instant gratification] in the comforts of my own kitchen. It’s so easy to make. Allow me to share with you how it’s done.


Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Original Treats


All you need are the following:


3 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 package (10 oz. or about 40 pieces) regular marshmallows OR 4 cups miniature marshmallows
6 cups Rice Krispies®



Procedure:

1. In a microwave-safe bowl, heat butter and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. Stir until smooth.
2. Add Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® cereal. Stir until well coated.
3. Using a buttered spatula or wax paper, evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan [or any pan/dish available] coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.






And there you have it… original Rice Krispies® Treats in minutes! Enjoy!


Share

2 responses to “Rice Krispies® Treats

  1. Love that too! 😛

    They don’t have in any Rice Krispies Treat na pala 😦

  2. dashashash says:

    yes, dear… locally, they’re not available anymore. just make some! 🙂

Leave a Reply

