Pieces Of A Wunderkind's Mind

Snippets of Life, Love, Food, Travels, Discoveries, and Whatnot

Dumplings and A ‘Feast’ of Noodles

on September 13, 2010

By now, those reading my previous posts would know that aside from Japanese, Italian, and Mexican fare… I like Chinese food. A lot. Who doesn’t anyway? Especially if they come at a price tag that’s really easy on the pocket.



I was in grade school when I was first introduced to Luk Yuen. It was my dad’s hangout when he was in the mood for Chinese or whenever he didn’t approve of the day’s menu at home. He used to take me with him and we frequented the branch in Cash & Carry along Osmeña Highway in Makati. He would get me the Century Egg with Lean Meat Congee and Deep Fried Taro Puff while he’d often pick the [Cantonese-style] Machang, Chicken Feet w/ Chili, and the Jumbo HK Siopao. We always shared the Steamed Shrimp Dumpling on each visit. Now, I go to Luk Yuen primarily for two things: the Noodle Feast and the vegetable dumpling. I could always drive to Binondo to appease my other Chinese cravings.



There’s the usual free bowl [err, cup] of soup that tastes like hot water with some oyster sauce stirred in it. I don’t normally touch it but in the few cases when I welcome the fact that I need something to warm my tummy, I would finish the whole bowl/cup and actually enjoy. Hehe.





The Noodle Feast can be shared by two or can be enjoyed by your lonesome, if you happen to be just like me who eats like a horse. It is basically a generous serving of mee pok or flat egg noodles served on a bed of won bok or Chinese pechay topped with steamed shrimp dumplings, pork wonton, braised beef, spicy cured pork strips, Hainan chicken chunks drizzled with a sweet-savory dark sauce and sprinkled with chopped spring onions. The mere thought of this dish is truly mouthwatering. This alone could make me rush to the nearest Luk Yuen.





I find the vegetable dumplings in Luk Yuen tastier than the others I’ve tried. The wonderful mix of minced ginger, garlic, carrots, Chinese cabbage, shitake mushrooms, and scallions bundled-up in paper thin wrappers made of rice that appears translucent after steaming never fails to cook up a storm in the palate. The dumplings are best eaten with a dipping sauce made with light soy sauce, sesame oil, sugar, rice vinegar, and pepper. My recent trips to Luk Yuen made me aware that they don’t serve such dipping sauce any longer. The ol’ reliable toyomansi infused with chilli usually suffices.


All these writing and posting of photos are making me hungry. Too bad, steaming the pack of SM mini siopao [Francis calls them sioplets] in the freezer would be the closest to Chinese I could get right now. Maybe I’m just going to prepare some instant Pancit Shanghai to go with it. Haha. And maybe… I should start working on my sense of deferred gratification while I’m at it.



Luk Yuen Noodle House
Cash n’ Carry Mall, Palanan, Makati
Telephone: 856-5778


Unimart Bldg. Ortigas Ave., Greenhills, San Juan
Telephone: 721-2620


LG/F SM Megamall Bldg. A, Julia Vargas Avenue, Mandaluyong City
Telephone: 633-1610


Commerce Ave. Makati Supermarket, Alabang, Muntinlupa City
Telephone: 772-4967


Share

One response to “Dumplings and A ‘Feast’ of Noodles

  1. Mara says:

    Now I’m hungry too D:

Leave a Reply

