Pieces Of A Wunderkind's Mind

Snippets of Life, Love, Food, Travels, Discoveries, and Whatnot

Almost Italian

on October 12, 2010

A typical day of PMSing means crying out for a particular food item. Last week, it was pasta. As I long for just that, I was reminded of this carbonara dish I had in Metro by Tokyo Tokyo, which wasn’t even the least bit tasty or appetizing. [I take blame for that, though. Why in the world would someone order a pasta dish in a Japanese restaurant, right? ] Though it had some of my favorite things [salmon chunks and tobiko], the entire dish still came to me as blah. There was too much cream incorporated in it that the flavors of the smoked salmon and the fish roes were overpowered. Overall, the carbonara was bland.


With that fail moment in mind plus the fact that I’ve some smoked salmon and a tiny container of flying fish roes I got from Cold Storage in the fridge, a pack of flat pasta in the pantry, and the essential things I would be needing to fix up a more delicious [at least for me] carbonara, I make my way to the kitchen in an attempt to sate my pasta-hunger.


Salmon Carbonara


For this recipe, you have to have the following:

2 large eggs
1/4 cup sour cream
freshly ground black pepper
4 tablespoons parsley, finely chopped
4 tablespoons red onion, finely diced
225 grams linguine or fettuccine
6 oz. [about 168 grams] smoked salmon, cubed
a clump of tobiko / flying fish roes



Procedure:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Tip: I cook the pasta in boiling water for exactly 11 minutes to make it al dente.
2. Break the eggs into a large bowl and whisk thoroughly. Beat in the sour cream. Add into the egg mixture the parsley, onion, and some pepper to taste.
3. Drain the pasta as soon as it’s done and immediately add to the egg mixture. Toss with tongs or with a wooden spoon. This will cook the egg mixture as it comes in contact with the hot pasta.
4. When the pasta is thoroughly coated, gently stir in the salmon.
5. Garnish with additional parsley and top the dish with the fish roes.
6. Serve hot.


Makes 2-3 servings.



So there’s your carbonara with a twist. It’s rather easy to prepare. Why don’t you try making it as well and let me know what you think. Feedback would be greatly appreciated. [Note: I consider it a really effective PMS treat. ] Dig in and “Buon appetito”! Or would it be more appropriate to say, “Douzo tabete kudasai!”?


Share

Leave a Reply

