Pieces Of A Wunderkind's Mind

Snippets of Life, Love, Food, Travels, Discoveries, and Whatnot

Sighing for Shrooms

on November 26, 2010

It has been seven months since my last Tagaytay trip. I never got to think about that till now. Why? Because all of a sudden, I craved for Mushroomburger. Smiley Each drive to Tagaytay automatically means a stopover at my favorite burger joint along Aguinaldo Highway. I would buy extra burgers for take-out that the entire car would smell of them. *takes a whiff of the imaginary burgers* Aahhhh, bango!!! And now, I’m salivating with the mere thought of my Mushroomburger staples. [Yes, even if I just had lunch.]


The Mushroomburger in Tagaytay City, which is the original branch, is almost as famous as the city itself. The familiar relaxed, no-fancy-shmancy setting never fails to make you feel comfortable. Service is quick and food is as good as the first time I had something from there. Oh that first bite became an instant part of the good times and good memories linked with Tagaytay.



More often than not, I would arrive in the city from Manila by lunch time. Lunch would almost always consist Mushroomburger’s Hong Kong Rice Meal and soup. A Hong Kong Rice meal comes with your choice of viand, rice, adobo egg, and mushroom delight [a special side of stewed Shitake and some vegetables]. Smiley YUM!!!


Burger Steak HK [Php108]


an almost-done bowl of Egg Drop Soup


Mushroom Beef HK [Php108]


Now for the burger part of this post, I always get the Mushroom Burger Royal [Php95]. It’s a burger with a thick slab of mushroom omelet and cheese along with the burger patty. The juicy patty is made from minced mushrooms and beef. It has this unique flavor that always succeeds in keeping me hooked.


Click to enlarge


As I’ve mentioned, there has to have extra burgers for take-out. I get the Mushroom Burger Regular [Php70]. The patty is a mix of mushrooms and beef. Like any other burger, it comes with slices of cucumber, tomato, and pickles.



Last time I heard, there are now two branches of Mushroomburger here in Metro Manila. One is along Katipunan Avenue, right across the Ateneo and the other one’s along West Avenue, in front of PhilAm Homes. Both are located in Quezon City. But personally, I think that nothing beats munching your ‘shrooms away while enjoying chilly, breezy Tagaytay. I don’t know, but having them in the original branch completes to the whole Mushroomburger experience.



Mushroomburger
Km 60, Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay City


Share

2 responses to “Sighing for Shrooms

  1. i loooove mushrooms too 😀

Leave a Reply

