Pieces Of A Wunderkind's Mind

Snippets of Life, Love, Food, Travels, Discoveries, and Whatnot

Traditional, Not Fusion

on November 29, 2010

If a sudden craving for traditional Japanese kicks in, I suggest you head over to Kaiseki at the Fort Pointe. Owners Albert and Jo Wu claim that their restaurant offers real Japanese food that most haven’t seen anywhere else. And to make their dishes suit the Pinoy palate, all they did was a little tweaking.


Last Friday, I had the chance of dining in Kaiseki again, this time with my bestest girlfriends to celebrate two of my friends’ birthday. We chose a table on the second floor.



The restaurant’s ambience is calming and very Zen-like. There weren’t a lot of diners on the second level so it was quiet. The sound of traditional Japanese music was being played softly which, I think, added to the whole tranquil atmosphere.



Each table is set with a tray carrying a pair of chopsticks, napkin, plate, and a small dish of tsukemo or chopped spicy Napa cabbage [think kimchi minus the fermentation part] and sweet, crispy dilis [long-jawed anchovies].



The Maguro [tuna] Sashimi was fresh and sweet. Yes, it was delicious but there was nothing special about it. Suyen, one of my friends, liked this a lot. However, I would have preferred Sake [salmon] Sashimi, if I had the choice.



This makimono with slices of enokitake [enoki mushrooms] and some tobiko [flying fish roes] on top was one of my favorites that night. The mushrooms were stringly, delicately-flavored, chewy and cooked just right [no toughness there]. I loved it!



Kaiseki’s Crazy Maki is a yummy makizushi topped with shredded crabsticks and sprinkled with ebiko [shrimp roes]. This dish is a Kaiseki staple. I don’t think it’s just our opinion as this is truly a crowd favorite.



The soft-shell crab hand roll was my prime choice for the night. I just cannot get enough of it. It had a sweet-savory flavor that would pass as beef, and not shellfish. It came with a dip of what appeared to be spiced Dijon mustard. I’d definitely go back for this one.



My bowl of mixed seafood yakimeshi made me happy. It had chunks of crabsticks and shrimps in it. It was tasty, had the right amount of saltiness, and was even made more flavorful with the onions. My friends opted for beef and shrimp yakimeshi, though.



We got an order of ebi tempura. Each order consists of seven pieces. Like any other ebi tempura, Kaiseki’s had a crisp batter and a sweet, succulent piece of shrimp waiting for you as you bite into it.



We also ordered some oysters. As you can see, they are already unshelled and cooked in their own ‘juice’. The dish came with shredded vegetables and vinegar for dipping. It was impressive. We all liked it. [Well, except for one who doesn’t eat oysters at all.] Hehe.



And if you think that we thought our orders were enough, WRONG! We still added a platter of beef teppanyaki to our dinner. The beef was tender and well-seasoned. It paired well with our yakimeshi.



My tall glass of green mango shake completed my sumptuous Japanese dinner. It had a perfect balance of sourness and sweetness that I was looking for. Is there anybody else out there who loves green mango shake? I’m just curious.


Kaiseki provides exceptional customer service with their great-tasting traditional Japanese fare. All servers [and I realy mean all] have ready smiles; they are warm, friendly, and kind enough to offer to take your group’s pictures. I’d give them an A+ for quick and efficient service towards client satisfaction.



What’s better than enjoying great-tasting Japanese with the world’s greatest girlfriends on an equally great night? I say nothing is.



Kaiseki Japanese Cuisine
Fort Pointe, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig
Telephone: 889-1005
Mon – Thurs:
11:00 am to 3:00 pm
6:00 pm to 10:30 pm
Fri – Sat:
11:00 am to 3:00 pm
6:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Sun:
11:00 am to 3:00 pm
3:00 pm to 10:30 pm


Share

2 responses to “Traditional, Not Fusion

  1. Smarla says:

    hmmm i haven’t tried this place yet 🙂 great post! now i want to try crazy maki and soft shell crab hand roll 🙂

Leave a Reply

